top of page
Search

Moving Into New Art Criticism Territory

I began a book by Peter called Hot Cold Heavy Light and he is a New Yorker magazine heavy hitter talking about the bad boys De Kooning and Dubuffet painting women like bad boys do. He was also there in the 1960's when Warhol opened in Paris with his flowers. I am appreciating his commentary, especially Ansel Keifer who is at Seattle Art Museum. I would prefer Ansel Kiefer's paintings about the event in the 1940's when some American political figures wanted to disarm Germany and force them to be farmers. Keiffer was beginning acidic processes with his work and making these butterflies and flower paintings as if an alternative vision had the Germans been disarmed, Peter began to unsubscribe from Keifer which I appreciate. I like Kieffer I just wish we had some other canvases to circulate at SAM. I wish SAM had Picasso, the closest I can imagine coming is LACMA, i lived bocks away from LACMA in 2006 and visited the Picasso which is right by the Hockney Mulholland Drive painting. It made me wonder if SAM deliberately has no Spanish painters because they were anti Franco, SAM has no Miro and i don't really care there is no Dali. There is a Matta if I'm not mistaken. I began to wonder how the big money at SAM feels about the Spanish Civil War back in the 1930's and 1940's, according to the biography by Cook i read about Eleanor Roosevelt, Amercica sent no arms to the Spanish Communists against the Fascists, and we all know Picasso's commentary pictures about Franco (Think Goya 5th of May- SAM doe have a Zuberon I think). Picasso also painted the Communist dove, he had two children with Francois Gillot who was an active member of the Communist Party, and she went on to marry Jonas Salk, who invented the polio vaccine and because of his altruism asked for no money for having invented it. Thinking how Seattle is into scientific pioneering in genetics etc, I should think Picasso and his art would be in high demand. There must be a political reason. I also began a book about Russia Constructivism I will speak of later, however- art that is conscious of being profit driven can be different than art with no profit motive. Think Van Gogh, no profit motive, and mass produced Walmart canvasses. I question the sincerity. Picasso did keep his money- enough to survive and paint in Californie house is France and other beautiful houses, however it wasn't intended to store infinite amounts of wealth, enough to remain comfortable. I think of the sculpture he donated to Chicago of his second and final wife- Jaquiline Roque- and he tore the check up for 6 million that Chicago paid him with. Evidently he felt he had enough money- his reward was to engage with subject matter of art. The children still slide doen Jaquiline's nose, it made me wonder if that is why JFK chose a woman who looked similar to Roque as his wife, with the same name, to show his good taste. Peter gets into how bad boys used women to advance their agenda's, and I appreciate how they would also walk away with shame and embarassment for having portrayed a woman in such a little boy way. It's going to be a good read, I only just began.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peter Schjeldahl is More Accessible

because of the constant need to google the paintings- imagine understanding him without that ability (Yikes!). Going to art history class was always heaven for me, the miniature sketches with notes f

Books That Have Inspired me in the Past Two Years

that I have yet to elaborate on. The book about Immersion and Caravaggio, the book about the History of the Shadow. Dark Money revealing the underground network of big money and it's paid lobbyists.

Tolstoy On Art Isn't As Anticipated July 5

I read Dostoevsky and wondered if Tolstoy was similar. It was in art school I was beginning my 3rd year living in a women's artist cooperative called The Three Arts Club- 1300 N. Dearborn, in the Gol

bottom of page